Is Something Wrong? or …


“My rant against the bias towards Disabilities”

Serene Pathway

*

I swore that I would,

if only I could

change my life completely around.

From many time of trying,

I’m now used to the dying

when you tell me my mind is not sound.

*

I look in your face,

vainly search for a trace

that makes me want to believe.

I’ve heard it before,

and I’ve come to abhor

your labels designed to deceive.

*

Your smiles are crooked,

and your posture does show it

there’s something amiss in our sharing.

Thinking you know,

I’m not status quo

without ability for the Daring.

*

My abilities – yes different,

my mind – most competent

seeking out dreams – just like you.

I certainly can’t,

and most definitely won’t

humble myself for you.

*

Disabled you call me,

Unable you see me

But I don’t fit your profile.

I make no transgression,

I work at discretion –

your feigned ignorance reviled.

*

Scandalous at times,

most shameful, poisoned minds

your integrity completely lost.

Stolen power is yours

knowing patience wears,

at attempts to create trust.

*

Challenges – indeed,

I still look to succeed

not discouraged from daily falling.

Strength I am gaining,

gathering, sustaining

towards living my personal calling.

*

Chasing My Dream,

Life begins to redeem

and is giving me freedom to live.

I refuse to give up,

I’ll keep getting up

I refuse to be held in captive.

*

I pass now to you,

a chance to renew

your desired belief in another.

I willingly stand,

to help you understand

we are, after all, here for each other.

*

*

Namaste

(c) 2013 Kevin Collins

8 comments on “Is Something Wrong? or …

  1. I enjoy what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

  2. Mike says:

    I appreciate your sentiments but the “poetry” is tripe. Just an honest assesment from someone with a professional background in published work. Keep working on it, though. It obviously means quite a bit to you. Good luck.

    • Thank you for your comments Mike.
      My goal in writing it was for the appreciation of the sentiments. Just venting for others in the same boat.
      I’m not a poet, so your advice is not applicable to me.
      Thanks anyways,
      k

  3. Kevin this is excellent…
    Working as I have done for a number of years now Supporting Adults with learning difficulties… I see the person not their disability…
    And so many want to ‘Pass them by’….
    Thank you for sharing your poem Kevin,… I hope many more will come to understand your words..
    Blessings Sue

  4. slpmartin says:

    A very fine verse on a topic I care much about…thanks!

Will you share a thought ...

